The Malaysian Institute of Economic Research


The Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) undertakes independent and high quality problem-oriented research on economic, financial and business issues facing the country and provides advice on macroeconomic management, development and future economic perspectives

Announcements

We have launched our clubhouse

Please be advised that the MIER clubhouse was launched on Monday, the 29th of July 2019


Launch of new Cost of Living Index (CoLI) and Genuine Prosperity Index (GPI)

MIER will be publishing two new indexes, the Cost of Living Index (CoLI) and Genuine Prosperity Index (GPI)


MIER Youtube Channel

MIER now has a Youtube channel


Our next National Economic Outlook Conference 2020-2021

We will be hosting our next National Economic Outlook Conference 2020-2021 on the 26-27th November 2019


MALAYSIAN ECONOMIC OUTLOOK

The Malaysian economy grew by 4.7% in 2018 as projected by MIER. The economy is set to grow at a slower pace this year due to the slowdown in global demand as well as in domestic demand. The US-China trade war continues to be the major downside risk for the world growth although there has been positive progress made by China to Washington's requests during the 1st December Summit. Washington demanded Beijing to make structural changes with respect to forced technology transfer, intellectual property protection, non-tariff barriers, cyber intrusions and cyber theft, services and agriculture.

BCI 2nd Quarter 2019

Remains in Contractionary Mode

  • BCI slides to 94.3 points
  • Sales fall off
  • Unexciting external orders
  • Local orders increased marginally
  • Expected production decline
  • Expected export sales tend to remain unchanged

CSI 2nd Quarter 2019

Sentiments Improve Cautiously

  • CSI up 7.4 points q-o-q but remains below optimism threshold
  • Current finances improve
  • Employment outlook lifts income expectations
  • Apprehension over rising prices grows
  • Shopping plans to proceed caustiously

Who are we

The Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) undertakes independent and high quality problem-oriented research on economic, financial and business issues facing the country and provides advice on macroeconomic management, development and future economic perspectives. In undertaking this task, the Institute seeks to achieve the following objectives:

  • serve as a bridge between the government, the private sector and the universities, and become a focal point for economic, financial and business research in the country;
  • undertake economic research projects commissioned by clients in the public and private sectors;
  • collaborate with other research institutes, at home and abroad, on topics of relevance to the country;
  • publish and disseminate the results of its research work, and organise symposia and conferences to promote exchange of ideas and views;
  • provide occasional training for officials from government agencies and private sector organisations; and
  •  
  • In recent years, the above goals have been extended to cater for the research and training needs of countries outside Malaysia as well.

 

We are located at

JKR No 606 Jalan Bukit Petaling, 504600 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Tel: 21420091/31334/25895/25897 | Fax: 21410131

GPS Co-ordinates : 3.131138, 101.696254      

Governance and Staff

×

Tan Sri Datuk Dr Kamal Salih

Professor Tan Sri Datuk Dr Anuwar Ali

Dato' Hamzah Bakar

Tan Sri Datuk Dr Sulaiman Mahbob

Dato' Dr M Shanmughalingam

Tan Sri Datuk Yong Poh Kon

×

Professor Dr Bala Shanmugam

Datuk Dr Pang Teck Wai

Datuk Amar Wilson Baya Dandot

×

Tan Sri Datuk Dr Kamal Salih

Chairman
kamalsalih@mier.org.my

 

Executive Director - Position vacant

Elayne Yee Siew Lin

Assistant Director
elayne@mier.org.my

Dr Shankaran Nambiar

Senior Research Fellow
nambiar@mier.org.my

Professor Emeritus Datuk Dr Zakariah Abdul Rashid

Senior Research Fellow
zakariah@mier.org.my

Dr Haji Ahmad Fauzi bin Haji Puasa

Senior Research Fellow
fauzi@mier.org.my

Dr Zulkiply Omar

Senior Research Fellow
zulkiply@mier.org.my

Musalmah Johan

Senior Research Officer
musalmah@mier.org.my

Nur Azmila binti Awang

Research Officer
azmila@mier.org.my

Siti Syamila Amir Hamzah

Research Officer
syamila@mier.org.my

Kama Firdaus Subbahi

Research Officer
kama@mier.org.my

Mohd Nor Azizi Ismail

Research Officer
azizi@mier.org.my

Muhammad Muhaimin Abd Raof

Research Officer
muhaimin@mier.org.my

Mohamad Azlizal Mohamed Razali

Office Manager
mazlizal85@mier.org.my

Sarimah Sulaiman

Assistant Office Manager
sarimah@mier.org.my

Kala Rani Selvadurai

Senior IT Officer
kala@mier.org.my

Isnani Ismail

Information Officer
isnani@mier.org.my

Mageswari Supermaniam

Human Resource Officer
mages@mier.org.my

Aeysha Yusof

PA to Chairman
pachairman@mier.org.my

Nurfaizah Bakhri

Accounts Clerk
faizah@mier.org.my
×

Professor Ahmad Zubaidi Baharumshah


Dr Jean-Francois Gautrin


Dr Khalid Abdul Hamid


Dr Lau Wee Yeap


Dr Mohamed Thalha


Prof Shahwahid Hj Othman


Prof Dr Jamal Othman

×

 

 

 

MIER Event Calendar